Work, Work, Work and Too Much Self-Doubt

So I’ve got a new job. Not a very taxing one but still enough to freak me out. I’m so happy that I have now been there a week and THEY HAVEN’T FIRED ME!

Yeh I know. I have kinda low expectations.

I’ve been surprised that apparently people “like” me and no one has yet realised that I am a complete invalid with no brain…. there is still time though!!!

Apart from a slight mis-hap when they ordered me a short-sleeved uniform rather than a long-sleeved one (they then told me not to worry, they wouldn’t ask why I wanted sleeves…. wtf?! subtle) then this week has been fine. In the summer sun, I have been sweating and smelling in a uniform jumper over my shirt but hey! Who really cares?

I’m fighting the inner critic who is trying to convince me that they want me out. I was  given additional responsibilities the last few days and immediately presumed that this was a sly way of telling me that I wasn’t pulling my weight and needed to do more….

So what have I learnt over the past seven days?

For one, that you have got quash, or at least ignore, that niggling self-doubt. You will never achieve if you give in to it.

Secondly, you should give yourself an opportunity to prove yourself. Every-one feels like a fraud but that does not mean that you can not do it.

Over and out!

Leave a Reply

