A Different Kind of Hangover

I’m not talking about alcohol. I’m talking panic attacks. Well maybe a little bit of both.

Last night, for the first time in four weeks, the monster returned. Because it had been a while since my last one, this one caught me by surprise. Yes, I’d had a drink and was not sober but I feel that as much as that wouldn’t have helped, I can’t understand what caused it. That is the most stressful part of the whole situation. I am shattered and vulnerable. I’m short of breath, dizzy and shaky. I call it my panic attack hangover.

I don’t suffer much from alcohol hangovers as ibuprofen, water and carbs usually sort me out pretty quickly. I’m not sure what to do with the other type.

I do have propranolol, but it is a beta blocker and my heart rate is not elevated so I feel that that wouldn’t sort anything. I think the only cure for this one is time, a good shower and my cosy cardi.

If anyone has any advice as to how to deal with this, it would be much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

