A Friend

People all have their own idea of what a friendship is. I find it infinitely difficult to call someone a friend because if I do, I don’t want them to become burdened with my sporadic existence. Outside of my immediate family, I would say that I have definitely one, maybe two, good friends and I like to keep it at that.

We don’t see each other often, every month or so, and only talk when we organise to meet.  The quality of our relationship has not been limited by time spent apart but rather enhanced it. As we have grown up together, instead of going our separate ways, we have gotten closer.

This is what a strong friendship is. I know that I am one of the lucky ones. Not many can boast of such a relationship.

Friendship has meant that she visited me when I was in hospital and wrote me letters whilst I was ill. She stood by me when I tried to take my own life. I can’t imagine how much stress that I have caused her.

It’s strange to think that such an unattractive personality could have warranted such loyalty. People can surprise you.

 

Leave a Reply

