I was thinking….

 

thinkingWhat does self-harm/ cutting do for me? I know it causes physical damage to my body but I have often wondered what it does for me emotionally.

After a lot of thought and general existential questioning (yes I’ve been feeling philosophical) I think I’ve come to a MASSSIIVE realisation. It’s a bit weird, so I was hoping that other people who have self-harmed can relate.

I think it is like mindfulness to the extreme. Now hear me out, I know that mindfulness is anything but harmful, but I use increasing pain and damage to myself as a way to ground myself from my intense emotions or numbness. By being able to feel the pain and accept it and then increase the severity, I am more connected to my body.

I know, strange right. Please, anyone else’s thoughts or own self-reflection would be much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

